Why I Love Lisbon

I wake up at nine, get up at ten, and if I don’t go to the gym I will make breakfast and sit in front of my computer eating it. My husband is still sleeping, he only gets home in the late hours. I think about lunch, I check the fridge. I tell myself that tomorrow I am getting up at eight. I go out, visit the kiosk at Praça de Luis de Camões for my daily fix of coffee. I sit. I watch people. I enjoy every second of it. It’s not because I’m moving, I always loved Lisbon, but I think more about it now. Naturally!

By the way I think Lisbon houses more nutters than any other city in the world.

From the coffee shop I go for a walk, maybe a visit to see the sales in the shops, maybe to one of the many Miradouros. It’s truly a beautiful city! let me tell you what I love about Lisbon:

The architecture, the stone work you walk on, the blue sky, the lost tourist, the helpful Portuguese, the cute trams, the typical parking in the middle of the street, the street lamps, the street name signs, the tascas, the statues, the churches, the random old man making a dirty comment quietly so only you can hear, the Brasilians, the old loud ladies complaining, fado, beggars, the punks and their dogs, the street artists, drinking in the streets of Bairro Alto, porco preto, wine, tremosos, Avenida de Liberdade, Alfama, the beaches, €1 beer, pigs feet (erm), feeling like you asked the waiter for a huge favour when placing an order, constant construction, hostels in every corner (the new in?), Ramiros restaurant, being offered hash and upon kindly declining instead being offered heroin (cos I look like a heavy addict?), grilled chicken, grilled fish, the river, misbehaving English girls (yeah I know that’s not typical only for Portugal), Swedish expat pretending she cannot speak Portuguese when wanting to listen in to other peoples conversation, Swedish expat pretending not to be Swedish when other swedes are around and she conveniently has a book in Portuguese to disguise her, men in suits thinking they are hot shots but really work in a call centre, living with mum at age 30 cos you can’t afford to move out but you drive a nice new car that you pay by instalments. Just to look good!

I thought I was gonna write a short list of things but I could go on and on. But I need to go to the shop so my husband can get fed!

Over and out!

Love CJ

20120727-171402.jpg

About CJ - Loving São Paulo

A Swede in Brazil. Whatever comes to mind; thoughts, inspiration, food ideas, baby stuff, life.. I will write about it when I have free time! Uma Sueca no Brasil. Seja o que for; pensamentos, inspiração, novas receitas, coisas de bebes, a vida... Se há tempo livre escrevo aqui!
This entry was posted in CJs World and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

