My Road to Becoming a Brasuca

A lot of people ask me “Why Brazil”.

A stupid question to me, and probably to you if you are also one of those crazy people who left your perfectly organized country to live in the chaos of São Paulo. Why not? Why did those 9,495,113 (wait, add a baby boy to that) crazy people decide to stay, yet they complain about the shit weather, the high taxes, the decline in the social security system, the king and his girls…?

So why Brazil? Well, because I can.

Many people here in Portugal comment on how my accent has a touch of Brazilian in it (brazilian friends fault!), and living in Brazil was a dream of mine long before I ever had any connection with the country or its countrymen.

Before Brazil my dream as a child was to go to Australia. So I did, as by coincidence I came across a brochure about a school in Sydney and naturally I got the hint. The universe had spoken. Then as my studies came to an end three years later, I started thinking of where to go next and my first thought was Brazil. But I thought Portugal would be easier considering my past here plus daddy could house me. But now it is time. Time to live that other dream of mine.

Some time ago I began the process of sorting out my Permanent Residency, which I thought would be a difficult and time-consuming process. With my application I need proof of residency from the council, a copy of my criminal record, a verified copy of my passport, a photo and the marriage certificate. I got all this in one afternoon so it was quite easy. The next process is to go to the Brazilian consulate who in turn take two months to issue the visa, and it takes like two months to get an appointment at the consulate in the first place (booked early July and got it for 4/9). But… Junior knows someone who knows someone who works at the consulate so we managed to get an appointment already last week. I was on holidays in Ericeria as daddy was visiting so had to come back for the day.

But there was this little detail that I didn’t think about; I adopted one of his names. So the only valid document I was the marriage certificate. Everything else is in my maiden name. Bugger. Total blonde moment I know! Now I have to send a form to Sweden to change my name (done), then I can get a new passport (will probably be done by end of August all going well), then go back to the consulate on 4th September. Thank god I didn’t cancel it!!! But this means I probably have to wait until November to travel to Brazil and I really wanted to go in October when Jr goes! Damn it. Still not sure what to do tho, maybe I should just go? But then I will probably be there for like two or three months before I can work. And I want to work when I get there!

I am not worried, I have a good feeling that it will all go well. In my universe I already have the PR and a really well paid job.

Love, CJ

In this building you find the Junta de Freguesia of Bairro Alto… I had never seen it until this day. Doesn’t look like much…

About CJ - Loving São Paulo

A Swede in Brazil. Whatever comes to mind; thoughts, inspiration, food ideas, baby stuff, life.. I will write about it when I have free time! Uma Sueca no Brasil. Seja o que for; pensamentos, inspiração, novas receitas, coisas de bebes, a vida... Se há tempo livre escrevo aqui!
This entry was posted in CJs World and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

