So I have this passion…

I can talk. A lot. But I can’t sing. I can move, I’ve actually run two half marathons. But I can’t dance. My hips are stuck. Actually, I am not sure they are even there.

But I love dancing and music. I know I am a lost case with the singing bit, I can’t take a tone and I sound like a whiskey drinker most days. That is alright, I can live with that. But dancing! Dancing I want to learn. Badly! But are there schools for those with no rhythm, no hips and probably two left feet?

I want to practice before going to a school so I don’t totally ruin my super amazing reputation. As I live in Lisbon so I should be able to learn easily in a bar but that is also so embarrassing!! I was actually doing Bachata pretty ok at one point, I think I even had a set of hips then. But now it is like I have lost it all. Yesterday I decided to take things in my own hands so I searched youtube for videos. I actually found one with a woman teaching Samba, step by step and she made it pretty easy.. I just have to practice and try finding those hips. Damn they move fast!!

So I stood here in my living room looking at my laptop whilst trying to Samba. I was alone (naturally) and I giggled (and possibly my neighbors across the street too). I blushed and thought “I was not born a latino, give up!”

But I am a fighter, so I looked up dance schools in São Paulo. I found one which even finds a partner for you. Because I have tried before to get Junior to join me for Salsa lessons. But here I get a man with the package! Awesome.

Music is so amazing, I always listen to music when I blog and it really inspires me. Or is it the wine… I forget.

After my self-help-samba-lesson I came across a video of a couple dancing Bachata. They rocked, so sexy, so much feeling and good music! I want to share this with you, please have a look!


This is me in a year! I want to learn Salsa, Bachata and why not Zumba too! Oh I can’t wait to move to Brazil!!!

Love, CJ

About CJ - Loving São Paulo

A Swede in Brazil. Whatever comes to mind; thoughts, inspiration, food ideas, baby stuff, life.. I will write about it when I have free time! Uma Sueca no Brasil. Seja o que for; pensamentos, inspiração, novas receitas, coisas de bebes, a vida... Se há tempo livre escrevo aqui!
This entry was posted in CJs World and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to So I have this passion…

  1. Johel says:

    Bachata is me. I’m Bachata. Unfortunately i’m leaving Sao Paulo September 22nd. Where can i dance today?

Leave a Reply

