Back in Action

It’s been a while, with no internet connection at home and accidentally messing up my blog format, writing was conveniently set aside for a while. Today it is Sunday, and instead of an afternoon nap I have decided to blog.

poolSo we have settled in our new flat in São Paulo. It is tiny, cute and well located. We live in a neighbourhood called Pinheiros, it is close to a metro station in one end, and to green areas and a big park at the other end. We are also walking distance from Vila Madalena which is a great area for going out at night. Who would have thought you could have so much good right around the corner of your apartment in big Sampa? Oh, and then there is the rooftop pool which is just another bonus. What else can we ask for?

The first week we dedicated to get to know our neighbourhood and also take care of some paperwork like my residency. I will blog about that later when it is all done and hopefully be of help to future alien wannabees like myself.

It all felt really good right from start but as soon as Junior begun his work I was hit by loneliness. Thankfully that only lasted for three days as I then went to Rio de Janeiro for work. I am still in Rio now, and wont be back to SP for another week.

As this job is a bit like being self-employed, I am the one making an investment. Therefore I am the one paying for my trip to Rio so I was looking for a pretty cost-effective accommodation. I looked for something in the area of the office so that I could avoid traffic and expensive travels in the morning. As there was only a boutique hotel in the area I looked for a room to rent, and being the adventurer I am, I accepted a room offered by a man. It turned out he lives with his girlfriend and has a third room which is rented out to a Portuguese girl. It’s less than 5 mins walk from the office and guess what, they are all really friendly!! picanhaThe couple is from Peru; he came here for a job, she for him. Yesterday they invited me to come along for the Christmas tree lighting which happens every year. They have also invited me (and the other girl of course) for a Peruvian lunch at the house today (complete with Ceviche and Pisco!)! I can only say “I’m a lucky girl”. If anyone wants to rent a room in Rio (and yes you can walk to Ipanema but takes 30 min), with a tiny view of the Jesus statue, nice people, flat screen TV, cable and wi-fi in your room, then let me know. It is basic, but it is all I need!

Just across the road they serve heavenly picanha for r$90 (approx 35 euros) and enough for 3-4 people. It’s not the typical picanha on a plate or rodizio, but rather they serve small raw slices on a burning hot pan (on fire) that turn into tender little pieces of orgasSONY DSCms. Yes, it’s that heavenly.

In the morning I walked around for a short bit, I love to look at houses! One street just parallel to mine was so lovely, really green with some very nice properties, many older ones that have been restored. Kids were playing on the street, people were walking and running, there were families meeting up for a sunday lunch… it was just generally a very pleasant area. I could see myself living there, although way beyond my budget. Well, many dreams have come true in the past, so why not a few more?

Love, CJ

About CJ - Loving São Paulo

A Swede in Brazil. Whatever comes to mind; thoughts, inspiration, food ideas, baby stuff, life.. I will write about it when I have free time! Uma Sueca no Brasil. Seja o que for; pensamentos, inspiração, novas receitas, coisas de bebes, a vida... Se há tempo livre escrevo aqui!
This entry was posted in CJs World and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

