A One Month Old Paulista

3344206061_6205f4fc55_o

Rua Oscar Freire

It has been just over a month, and so far São Paulo has treated me well. What I like about SP is that it has so much to offer. So far I have been to “normal” cheap bars for beer and snacks, luxury penthouse bars with crazy views, restaurants with food from out of this world and cozy middle class bars in Vila Madalena. I have passed by expensive (and we are talking a pair of normal bloody Diesel Jeans for like over a thousand euros) shops on Oscar Freire which is the 8th most luxury street in the world and I have entered some cheap crazy shops in the city centre (odd but fun), amongst them Galeria do Rock.

tumblr_m4axbtwUNf1qjrdq3o1_500

Galeria do Rock

I love how São Paulo has it all, so although the city is expensive, you can actually find cheap stuff too. And sometimes they are more fun!

A part from walking around the shops, restaurants and bars I have also been working. A bit. My first client was Brazilian, so I had to do the whole thing in portuguese which was nice. It is actually the first time I work in Portuguese, about time I guess.

I have to admit I do feel a little bit lonely. I think I am pretty independent and working on my own isn’t a problem. I just wish I had more company. Just people around me you know. Today I went out in the afternoon just so I could see some people other than the maintenance man who had been here and the security guy who came up with a delivery in the morning. I went to Pirajá and had a few beers. I was the only one sitting on my own, so I felt strange. But I had brought my netbook, prepared for the loneliness, and pulled out some work instead. It was nice to be outside and hear voices other than those in my head, but still I was just sitting there like another loser looking on the screen. Surrounded by people having after work drinks. Gah. I need to find some fun people who actually live in my neighborhood, otherwise it is such a project to get together. Big city you know!

Anyhooo, tomorrow I am going for a dinner so that will be nice! I was also invited to go to Rio de Janeiro for a Christmas lunch with work but decided it is too far to go there only for the day. I really wish I could have joined though, I would have easily got them all drunk! Oh, and I have started a Facebook page called Financial Advice by Caroline. It is nothing like this blog, it is actually supposed to be professional and all. It is a fun to promote myself and keep up to date with the financial world a bit too. I am hoping maybe it can help me get more clients, but we will see. If you want to go in and like it that would be awesome! Just don’t link my blog. As I said, it is supposed to be professional, you know, that other side of me that some of you have never seen…

Time to finish my glass of white wine and christmas cake (which was delivered to me by work today – a bottle of red wine came earlier in the week so they sure know how to make me tick!!).

Love,

CJ

About CJ - Loving São Paulo

A Swede in Brazil. Whatever comes to mind; thoughts, inspiration, food ideas, baby stuff, life.. I will write about it when I have free time! Uma Sueca no Brasil. Seja o que for; pensamentos, inspiração, novas receitas, coisas de bebes, a vida... Se há tempo livre escrevo aqui!
This entry was posted in CJs World and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A One Month Old Paulista

  1. aww, loving reading you experience so far. Kids are the answer to loneliness heheheh, they give you company, even when you would rather be on your own for a few seconds ;). good luck CJP x

Leave a Reply

