Christmas In Brazil

402981_10152302380765363_1861707895_n

House in Sweden, where I use to live during high school!

It is always a little bit strange when this time of the year comes. Well, I say always but it was really quite perfect until 22 years ago.

So December is here again, and Christmas has been around for a while now with store owners trying to maximize their revenue already from early October. But December is when it is really Christmas time, pictures of snowy Sweden is all over Facebook and you know Christmas is around the corner. But I just can’t feel it. At all.

I used to love Christmas, it was the most exciting time of the year apart from my birthday, where the attention was all on me me me!! I have been trying to write what Christmas was like, but it is hard to project the true feeling. How do you describe perfect? It wasn’t just the good food and the presents, a day full of fun and games and the snow falling. It wasn’t just daddy dressed up as a fat santa or mum sparkling a bit extra… I guess it was the combination, but it was mostly the feeling, the fact it was so perfect. I hope I can give the same to my kids when I have them, proper prefect Christmases in a wintery place. I was going to write “in Sweden with my family” but remembered that Junior is my family now. So his family is included, however when it comes to Christmas, Sweden is where I want to be.

So, it is now Christmas 2012, and I am spending it in São Paulo. I will be drinking too much beer, eat lots of BBQ, dance a bit of Samba (Schweden ztyle) and then go to bed only to wake up to yet another day of warm weather, possibly some rain and more BBQ and beer. Yeaaaah, not my thought of a Christmas day. But, it is my idea of a good night with friends, so guess I just have to look on the bright side and enjoy the ride! And as these religious people around me pray to their God, I will pray to mine that next year, I will be enjoying a Swedish Christmas with my husband, who has never seen snow before…

Merry Christmas to you all!

CJ

About CJ - Loving São Paulo

A Swede in Brazil. Whatever comes to mind; thoughts, inspiration, food ideas, baby stuff, life.. I will write about it when I have free time! Uma Sueca no Brasil. Seja o que for; pensamentos, inspiração, novas receitas, coisas de bebes, a vida... Se há tempo livre escrevo aqui!
This entry was posted in CJs World and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

