The Pressure Cooker

This is a really cool invention. Have you ever seen one? I only just learnt this Christmas how they work. I have seen them before, in Portugal. Hmm, I wonder if this is a hispanic tool. I don’t remember ever seeing them in Sweden. But then you would not find me in a kitchen that often either. That might be why. They are cool because meat that would otherwise take three hours to tender up now takes only 30 minutes, when it all goes as planned.

It was my husband’s aunt who used it and told me it is so easy. But she didn’t tell me the lid has a mind of its own and can randomly decide to explode. I don’t know why it exploded, I treated it with total respect. I know I must let the air come out so it doesn’t suffocate, which I did. I had my back to the thing but I heard the noise it made so I knew it was doing the job. Or, well. How do you distinguish the difference between the sound of a steaming pot and an eruptive pot? You don’t know either? Don’t worry you will find out eventually. If you use a pressure cooker and it suddenly starts making a slightly different and louder noise whilst, at the same time, you feel burning chunks of beef landing in your hair, well then something is probably wrong.

I understand I should not just leave the kitchen with food dripping from the ceiling, but following my post yesterday I wondered what the rich brazilian wife does in this situation. I’m a bit of a wannabe you see. After some useless research I remembered they don’t do anything. Unfortunately, by this time the beefy water had gone cold, the grease hard and the kitchen brown.

I have suggested to Junior we get a cleaning lady to help me with these difficult cleaning tasks but he is such a strict husband that he just looks at me and mumbles something about 39m2. I dunno what he is so fussed about. The smaller the house the cheaper the cleaning right?

Love, CJ

About CJ - Loving São Paulo

A Swede in Brazil. Whatever comes to mind; thoughts, inspiration, food ideas, baby stuff, life.. I will write about it when I have free time! Uma Sueca no Brasil. Seja o que for; pensamentos, inspiração, novas receitas, coisas de bebes, a vida... Se há tempo livre escrevo aqui!
This entry was posted in CJs World and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Pressure Cooker

  1. N says:

    I was very scared of that before using pressure cookers (I’m forgetful). My mom often asks me if it’s not dangerous. I think in order NOT to explode you have to make sure that 1. the lid is correctly closed, 2. add enough water for the amount of stuff you have in it, 3. don’t forget you have something on the stove (that’s MY problem). I have managed fine so far…. How about you, are you getting better ? ha ha

    • I dont have one anymore lol I might buy one though 🙂
      My problem was more the amount of water, burnt a few things…

      • N says:

        Ah. Well, I have two of the cheap kind that were given as gifts (I actually received THREE of them, but manage to return one… that’s how important it is to Brazilians. lol). I’ve learned that it’s better to have more water than necessary than not enough. Beans need the juice anyway 🙂

Leave a Reply

