Terraço Itália

View.

Edifício Itália, terrace view

I’m not sure why I am taken to these luxury places here in São Paulo but I guess I better just go with the flow before I run out of cash. As the last post of the year, I want to tell you about a place I went to called Terraço Italia. I am trying to put the words together but must gasp for air; the memory is fresh and I almost feel a bit light-headed.

We were a group of four, two couples, completely in love with wine. My three companions for the evening are all in the industry; it means they spend the first five or ten minutes discussing the menu, sharing their thoughts about the wines on offer. It also means I get five to ten minutes to check stuff out. I love to people watch, there is nothing more fun actually. But this evening I couldn’t care less about the well dressed women  with their perfectly groomed men. I’m not even sure there was anyone. Actually, no, I was alone. There was nobody but me. Me and São Paulo. Me and this mind-blowing view. Me and the glasses of Champagne, that magically appeared before me. Because they did exactly that. They appeared. And I drank them. Alone.

It all began with an elevator, we were still four at this point. Because we are in Brazil, where the elevators are very delicate, a nice gentleman helped us press the button that took us to the 42nd floor. I didn’t think much of it at the time, although the building I live in only has 20. We arrive and are shown to the terrace, and it is about here that my fellow companions somehow disappear. I have seen nice views before, I mean I have been on a plane for christ sake! I can’t quite describe it in words, I can’t do it justice, I can’t explain why it was so fascinating, and why it took my breath away more than any other view I have ever seen. It was just powerful.

Seated in a big leather chair with a glass of Champagne in my hand I really did feel like I was on top of the world. But most importantly, I felt happy. Because this amazing city I am overlooking is mine. I am part of this place, it is my home. I am proud to say, I am a Paulista.

I hope to go back for a meal one day, so that I can relive the moment but with less “being taken by surprise” kind of effect. Then I will do a part II to this post. There isn’t much more to say. It was possibly too much for me that Monday.

M o n d a y. It was only a Monday.

Love, CJ

P.s When I created this blog, I never imagined that I would experience the picture I chose as header in real life. And I only just realized.

About CJ - Loving São Paulo

A Swede in Brazil. Whatever comes to mind; thoughts, inspiration, food ideas, baby stuff, life.. I will write about it when I have free time! Uma Sueca no Brasil. Seja o que for; pensamentos, inspiração, novas receitas, coisas de bebes, a vida... Se há tempo livre escrevo aqui!
This entry was posted in São Paulo and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Terraço Itália

  1. Pingback: Loving São Paulo

Leave a Reply

