Fashion, Or The Lack Of It?

Ok so lets generalize again. Not sure why I keep explaining myself, but just in case you actually thought I meant every single person in Brazil when I say Brazilians, or whoever I’m referring to at the time. Read my lips: ex·ag·ger·ate.

Brazilian women are known across the word for being beautiful, sexy and bootylicious (I bet here it is ok if I generalize). And of course they are known for their bikinis. It is funny, on a beach in Brazil most Europeans could feel overdressed with their diaper-like bottoms while these women run around in their thong. The top part only just covers their nipple whereas the European will cover the actual boob. Usually anyway. Because in Europe you can take your top of!! It isn’t perhaps so much my generation who walk around topless on the beaches, more the 50+ woman. However my generation might well tan topless, so lying there with their perky breast pointing to the sky (do you see what I did there?). It is only natural after all right? It is a beautiful female body part, everyone has been there as a baby. It is a motherhood blessing. On the other hand, if a Brazilian were to show up in their mini bikini on a (northern) European beach then people would stare at her (men would love it, women would loathe it), and probably think she looks cheap. But why? She isn’t actually showing any private parts? Is it because of the extra skin you see? The girl next to her is topless. So why is it such a problem?

It is provocative, that is the “problem”.

On the other hand, the tourist who visits Brazil and takes her top of will probably be fined. And people here will probably think this girl is cheap and disrespectful.

Example of the famous butt (photocred: http://entretenimento.band.uol.com.br)

Example of the famous butt (photocred: http://entretenimento.band.uol.com.br)

Then there are the miniskirts. I don’t know how they can actually walk in those pieces of cloths without their butts popping out. Again, it is provocative. But it’s accepted here, well not at work of course (my Goody Two-Shoes subconscious frowns at the idea) but it is normal on the streets and definitely at night. And every man stares. I stare for heaven’s sake! How could I not. The butt inside that piece of cloth could easily be used as a table. It is a butt perkier than any breast I have ever seen, it is bigger than any backside Dr 90210 has ever touched. But it isn’t fat! It is just so, umm, full. I don’t know about you, but I would trade my flat swedish bum for some hot brazilian ass in a minute. But I am too lazy to do so, because  it does come at a price. The girls aren’t born with these things, they work out like crazy! Do you do squats at the gym? Well, add 20kg weight to that. On each leg. As a warm up.

But why is it that Brazilians wear a thong bikini but “normal” underwear? My reasoning is, wear thongs under trousers so the line doesn’t show, and normal bikini bottoms. Although I don’t necessarily follow these “rules” myself as I quite like some versions of the brazilian bikini, I don’t get their reasoning unless it is that thing again. To provoke.

Love, CJ

About CJ - Loving São Paulo

A Swede in Brazil. Whatever comes to mind; thoughts, inspiration, food ideas, baby stuff, life.. I will write about it when I have free time! Uma Sueca no Brasil. Seja o que for; pensamentos, inspiração, novas receitas, coisas de bebes, a vida... Se há tempo livre escrevo aqui!
This entry was posted in CJs World and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Fashion, Or The Lack Of It?

  1. So good, lol, and exactly right. Love your blog:)

  2. saradoucette says:

    Correct me if I’m wrong but the whole culture seems to me over sexualized and the mini skirt and the tiny bikinis are two examples of it 🙂

Leave a Reply

