A Very Special Friend

Me&CK

I was a very naughty little girl back in the days. I had that look in my eyes which screamed out “bus”, in english mischief or “to play tricks“. It all began in kindergarten. I was put in the same group as another naughty girl and so we clicked! We were the best team there was, and we played every trick we could possibly think of. We shared a beautiful love for “bus” and we also shared the same name. We were the Caroline’s from “bus-hell”.

It was not until 1985 that we were split up. We didn’t think of sharing telephone numbers at age 6, so we basically lost contact. I would not see her again. Life went on and I made two new best friends in school, Lena and (another) Caroline . There was actually lot’s of “bus” involved in our relationships too, but these two girls were much less naughty than my kindergarten mate. In 1990 when I left Sweden I had to once again make new friends. I was a little heartbroken by this and missed my two friends a lot, although I would never admit it at the time.

One day in 1991 I hear a rumor about another family from my home town having moved to Portugal. My sister and I got dad to drive us to their house so we could say hi. We got out of the car and there she was. My partner in crime. My very own “bus-friend” from kindergarten had moved to Portugal. Damn, I mean what are the odds!? We were now 12 but I felt like I was 6 again. She looked very happy to see me, she gave us all an excited “HI” and, according to her, I returned  a short and cold “hi”, leaned back on dads car and looked away. I was embarrassed but didn’t want to show it, so I tried looking indifferent instead. It took about 10 minutes before I was putting on one of her swimsuits and jumping into their pool. It was crazy. My life was saved. It was truly the best thing that could have happened to me. I needed her, right then, right there. I didn’t understand it that day and maybe I only actually realized it today that I am writing this post. We had just lost my mom and life was pretty damn shit.

We would hang out with their family all summer, and whoaa, what a summer. Actually our parents together that summer was as crazy a combination as us kids being together. It was one big party! And plenty of “bus” was born. More than Portugal had ever seen.

We were separated in school, we were separated on the school bus, we were separated in detention, we were separated when my dad grounded me. We were separated when I got caught on the train without a valid ticket. But we were always together. She treated me like family. Actually, better. She chose me, she was always there for me and she stayed with me; that is more than family. And she has kept me ever since, because although she left Portugal in 1993 we have maintained our friendship. She has visited me more than anyone else ever did during my years in Portugal.  And although she is in Sweden and I am now in Brazil, she will always be my best friend, my soul mate, my childhood memory, the one who saved me from misery when I really needed it. More than once.

Today is a special day, because today another “bus” has been born. A mini version of my friend has made it into this world. And that makes me so happy. It is a special baby with a special mother and a special grandmother. It is a very lucky baby who I know will live a very fortunate life. A child surrounded by true love, just like I have been.

Love to you my friend.

CJ

About CJ - Loving São Paulo

A Swede in Brazil. Whatever comes to mind; thoughts, inspiration, food ideas, baby stuff, life.. I will write about it when I have free time! Uma Sueca no Brasil. Seja o que for; pensamentos, inspiração, novas receitas, coisas de bebes, a vida... Se há tempo livre escrevo aqui!
This entry was posted in CJs World and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Very Special Friend

  1. Anonymous says:

    Hej Carro! Jag provar detta i st f mail en gång. Hur går det för er? Bor ni kvar i S P? Här hemma har sommaren kommit, vi har haft det rätt soligt. Barnen har sommarlov. Vi ser just nu på fotboll från Brasilien, Tahiti mot Nigeria.
    Alla hälsar,
    Paul

Leave a Reply

