A Long Needed Update From Sunny Sampa

Long before I even started this blog I was excited about it. I was thinking about stuff to write and how this would be a perfect way to spend those boring or rainy days. I always loved to write, when I was little I wrote the first page of several books. I remember how excited I was when I had finally created my blog, thinking I would now be writing all sorts of things. In the beginning it was hard to think of stuff to write and forcing myself meant some entries were less than interesting. But then it got better, I moved to Brazil and had new impressions to digest. But what happened?

I guess the fact I was not working and didn’t actually do much meant I had little to say. You are only a tourist for so long when you move to another country, because it is now home and since I am going to live here I don’t need to rush into seeing everything. But that is also the problem with the country you live in I guess, because you sometimes end up just living the normal life there rather than discovering it.

I have been lucky because my amazing husband works hard six days a week and doesn’t bother me about working too. But I needed to do something as I felt I was wasting time, so I began teaching English. It started with one or two students and although I was so scared at the beginning (what the hell is an adverb again?), I enjoyed it. As one student referred me on to other people I realised they appreciated me, making it easier. And here I am about six months later, still teaching English although I have mostly new students and am no longer doing it through the school as they were unreliable. I don’t have a car here so I take the bus everywhere, so I get to know more of the city which has been great. More students have referred me to other people so I now work over 20 hours a week plus the time I need to prepare for classes. My students are so funny though… in the beginning I was super serious with preparing grammar info and exercises, but then I realised they just wanted to talk. I have some students who are on a basic level but most are intermediate to advanced. When I bring up a document of whatever kind to go through they give me a disturbing look and it’s almost like they are pleading “please no…”. And I completely agree with them! They are all in a pretty high level job and work long hours, so studying English is supposed to be more of a pleasure to them than an obligation and hard work. I learnt English from speaking it, not so much studying it, so I am all for talking and less for studying. At least I’m the kind that learn better by doing! And there is so much more pleasure in that, all my students are truly amazing people with interesting backgrounds, intelligent and lots of things to say. I must have been very lucky, as I know from other ESL teachers that liking your students is far from always the case.

Anyhow, since I last wrote a lot has changed. I have moved from Pinheiros to Moema which is great. I really liked where I lived before but Moema is so much better. The neighbourhood is the best and this apartment isn’t furnished so finally I have been able to get the stuff I like and decorate it nicely. I just miss the rooftop pool that the other apartment had, it was divine! Moema has lots of cafés, restaurants, shops, families and schools, it is a calm and fairly green neighbourhood and feels like home!

I hope my new life here will bring more thoughts and experiences that I can blog about. Because new things are definitely on its way!

Love,

CJ

About CJ - Loving São Paulo

A Swede in Brazil. Whatever comes to mind; thoughts, inspiration, food ideas, baby stuff, life.. I will write about it when I have free time! Uma Sueca no Brasil. Seja o que for; pensamentos, inspiração, novas receitas, coisas de bebes, a vida... Se há tempo livre escrevo aqui!
This entry was posted in CJs World, Lisbon. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

