My Kitchen: Kind of Ciabatta bread

IMG_20140121_214708I have done this bread several times before and it always turns out well. Actually, it’s the only bread I have ever baked since I first baked bread on my own sometime end of last year. It tastes good and I change the flour to wholemeal to make it a bit healthier. The only thing with this bread is that I always felt that it lacks a bit in taste. In the past I have added more sweetness but I still felt that there was something lacking. Salt?

So, today I made some more changes as I felt a bit adventurous. First of all I didn’t have enough wholemeal flour to use only that, so I mixed it (about 8dl) with a bit of white flour (about 2dl) and oatmeal (about 2dl). Then I added linseed and sesame seeds and increased the amount of honey and salt – I don’t know how much, I just poured! Here is the original recipe from http://www.tasteline.com:

5dl water (lukewarm)
1dl milk
12.5dl flour
25g fresh yeast (6g if using dry)
2 tsp salt
1 tbs honey

Mix the dry stuff together then add the liquid and stir. It is more a batter than a dough, just mix well and leave to rise for 1-1 1/2 hrs.

Sprinkle some flour on your kitchen counter and “pour” out the dough, add some more flour on top of the dough and flatten it slightly with your hands. DO NOT mix or knead the dough, you want to keep the fermentation bubbles. Apparently… Now cut pieces and put on an oven tray, bake in the oven in 240-260ºc for 17-20 minutes.

IMG_20140121_221853

Now, Brazilian ovens are slightly odd, even though mine is actually a Swedish brand, it only goes up to 230ºc so that’s what I bake my bread in (I’m lucky it’s electric!). It works just fine and I don’t actually increase the time, but I do let them stay in there for the full 20 minutes.

Once ready let them cool, but make sure you have one before they are completely cooled down. There is nothing better than freshly home baked bread, with butter and cheese. YUM!!

About CJ - Loving São Paulo

A Swede in Brazil. Whatever comes to mind; thoughts, inspiration, food ideas, baby stuff, life.. I will write about it when I have free time! Uma Sueca no Brasil. Seja o que for; pensamentos, inspiração, novas receitas, coisas de bebes, a vida... Se há tempo livre escrevo aqui!
This entry was posted in Bread and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My Kitchen: Kind of Ciabatta bread

  1. Pingback: Ciabatta Bread and Rolls | Happenings on the Hill

  2. Ana Apolinário says:

    Hi CJ – you got me with this new cooking area of your blog! Will try this recipe with the girls this weekend 🙂 They love baking with mommy!

  3. I’ve never made ciabatta, but really want to try. Also, I just found your blog and I’m from just right outside Sao Paulo. 🙂

Leave a Reply

