My Kitchen: Gooey Chocolate Muffins

IMG_20140121_212557I have a very sweet tooth. It’s so sweet that my doctor has told me that I am in the risk zone of having pregnancy diabetes. I even have a bit of it, but only a bit he said. Whatever that means. I thought you either have it or you don’t. But ok, I need to stay away from sugar and too many carbs, but then that’s true for all of us right?

Let’s forget about my doctor and his silly comments for a while. I want chocolate. I have had a look through my cabinet and there is not much in there. I can see a bit of cocoa powder and I only have about 100g of butter. But aren’t I a smart one, I am going to make half a recipe!! I found the original here (Swedish).IMG_20140121_212812

(I have put what I did in brackets as I chose to make only half a batch – I got 7 muffins)

3 eggs (2)
4dl refined sugar (2dl)
3dl flour (1.5dl)
6tbs cocoa powder (I put 6tbs because the Swedish one is stronger)
2 tsp vanilla sugar (a dash of vanilla essence)
2 pinches of salt (1 pinch)
200g butter (100g)

Melt the butter, mix egg and sugar and add the melted butter to it. Mix all the dry ingredients and add to the egg mix. Mix everything well and pour into little muffin forms. Bake in 200ºc for about 20 minutes. It is very important that they are still gooey inside so don’t let them bake for too long. I had mine in for the full 20 mins and they came out great. I might do 18 mins next time!

Next time I will try to reduce the amount of sugar or replace it with something if I can think of something sweet enough. If the sugar doesn’t contribute to anything but taste then I am sure 1.5dl or even 1dl would be enough (for half a batch). I also think you could add more stuff to it like coconut flakes or banana, or substitute the chocolate to something completely different.

I shared a muffin with one of my students this morning and she loved it which made my day. It’s so rewarding when others appreciate your cooking!

About CJ - Loving São Paulo

A Swede in Brazil. Whatever comes to mind; thoughts, inspiration, food ideas, baby stuff, life.. I will write about it when I have free time! Uma Sueca no Brasil. Seja o que for; pensamentos, inspiração, novas receitas, coisas de bebes, a vida... Se há tempo livre escrevo aqui!
This entry was posted in A Sweet Tooth and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

