37 weeks

IMG_20140223_190302

The baby room

On Friday I’m 37 weeks pregnant, that means our baby is “full term” and can be born any time. When I think about it, that my husband and I will become a family, we’ll be three… I don’t know, it’s just surreal!

It still sounds funny to me when I call him my husband, so grown up!!

I think I’m ready for the ride, I know it will be a challenge but I’m ready for it. I’m ready for the long sleepless nights, the sore nipples, the days with no time for showers and smelly diapers. I’m glad my hubby has taken a month off work though, so he can be here with me and help (hahaha), or at least suffer from the high pitch cries with me. It’ll be nice to have this time together, to share the new experience with him. I wonder what she will look like. Will she be dark like him or blonde like me? Will she have straight thin hair or big fluffy curls? I’m boring… 100% swedish with the typical blonde and blue eyes. My husband however is a mix. He has a white father but his mother is a mix between a white, slightly ginger, mother and a black father. My husband got the dark traits whereas his two brothers were born blonde/ginger with pale skin and freckles. It will be an interesting mix indeed, but no matter what she will be the cutest girl alive.

The baby room is almost ready, really just need to get a few things up on the wall and then it’s done. It is simple but sweet, and it is all I need. I have some very sensible friends who recently had babies so I’ve received lots of good advice about what’s highly recommended and what I don’t need etc.

Last Friday I had an ultrasound, probably the last one. It was a bit boring because we couldn’t see her face as she has already fixed her head very far down, but oh so exciting to be told how well she is doing. The guy who did the ultrasound was great, I wish he was my OB! He asked me if I wanted a normal birth or a c-section, and when I told him I wanted a normal birth he gave me some advice about how to act when the time comes (easier said than done but any advice is welcome). He also told us that she weighs 2800g and is 49cm long! Considering they grow about 200g per week now, she might gain another kilo and grow about 2cm longer. The normal birth option suddenly sounded more painful. But women are made for having babies, right? And only a small percentage of  births are actually traumatic and need to end up in c-sections, right? Yes… let’s hope so.

Love,

CJ

About CJ - Loving São Paulo

A Swede in Brazil. Whatever comes to mind; thoughts, inspiration, food ideas, baby stuff, life.. I will write about it when I have free time! Uma Sueca no Brasil. Seja o que for; pensamentos, inspiração, novas receitas, coisas de bebes, a vida... Se há tempo livre escrevo aqui!
This entry was posted in CJs World and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 37 weeks

  1. N says:

    Oh, I’m rooting for you and a quick and smooth birth ! (Painless… well, that’s kind of impossible ! ha ha). I have three boys who were all naturally born at 36 weeks, so I don’t know about full term. They are franco-brasilo-canadians. 🙂

    • Thanks N! I’m not really expecting a pain free birth although I try to tell myself it won’t be so bad ha ha.
      Interesting mix you got there 🙂

      • N says:

        Oh no, I’m not encouraging a painless birth. I had an epidural for the twins (I was forced to get one actually) and that was the biggest mistake because I had no idea how to push after that!!! It numbs you but it’s not “painless” per se. It was actually traumatizing for hubby and I. He was scared to death that I wouldn’t make it. Second time was a drug less natural birth with midwives and it was awesome. I was delirious with the pain and my husband keeps laughing his head off when he tells the story 😉

      • I understand what you mean! I will try to have an as natural birth as I can. I hope there is that laughing gas here!! I hear that does wonders :))

  2. Karina says:

    I wish you all the best when the time comes. MY sister gave birth to a 3,650g 53cm baby boy, and everything happened naturally. If you ask her about the pain, she doesn’t even remember. As you said, women were born to do this.

    Another Brazilian girl arriving. Neat! Half Swedish, half Brazilian, surely beautiful. Welcome baby girl and new mom, because a mom is borning too.

Leave a Reply

