How to get a Permanent Visa in Brazil – part 2

I wrote about the first steps in this post if you are interested.

So after handing in all the documentation to the Federal Police I was told to keep an eye out for a publication in the Diário Oficial da União (DOU) where it would say whether my application for permanent residency has been approved or denied. Once I saw my name I bought that issue of the DOU (as I was told I needed the original – stupid). I took the news paper (which they then told me I had not needed – obviously they have the info there too!), my passport and two photographs (I think) to the Federal Police. I was sat for a while in front of a woman who was doing stuff on the computer while also talking to her colleagues about whatever and asking me about my husband. Very unprofessional, polite but unprofessional. I wasn’t particularly keen on spending another afternoon there so it was kind of annoying that they were wasting my time. Anyway, eventually they were done with me and I was told to queue for having my fingerprint taken. I am pretty sure I didn’t have a picture taken here but a friend said she did. Once all done you are given another piece of paper and asked to return in 180 days to collect your ID card.

I returned after 181 days and was told that the ID card had not arrived, they stamped my piece of paper with a new date saying it’s been postponed 180 days. She did however say I could come back earlier to check if it’s arrived; because they seem to think we like going there so much. I was eventually told I could check online whether it’s available before going there. I went home and a few weeks later I checked online and it said my ID card had arrived in December. I was there in January!! Gah! So I returned again and finally got it.

It’s bigger than a credit card so it won’t fit in the places you would normally keep an ID. It also looks like the print could come off so I have put mine in a place where it doesn’t touch anything else. It’s pretty lame, but it works. It’s my ID card and now I don’t have to walk around with my passport.

Next step – Double Nationality! But I don’t know when I can apply for that, probably only after a few years.

Love,

CJ

About CJ - Loving São Paulo

A Swede in Brazil. Whatever comes to mind; thoughts, inspiration, food ideas, baby stuff, life.. I will write about it when I have free time! Uma Sueca no Brasil. Seja o que for; pensamentos, inspiração, novas receitas, coisas de bebes, a vida... Se há tempo livre escrevo aqui!
This entry was posted in CJs World and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to How to get a Permanent Visa in Brazil – part 2

  1. ash says:

    You can apply for the citizenship after a year from getting your permanent residence.

    All the best!

    • Oh really? Sorry I am a little absent these days with my blogging… But ok, I should really look into that then since I have been here three years! Although I wonder if I actually want/need it…. 🙂

  2. Pingback: How to Get a Permanent Visa and Other Important Stuff in Brazil | Loving São Paulo

  3. Anonymous says:

    Hi Carol, I have permanent visa in Brazil since 1986, and the last time I have tried to convert it in nationality, the Police Federal answered me I had to give up with my French one! So, if you get some informations about, just share them with me, please. My kids have both nationalities, but it’s different, because they were born in Brazil (as your daughter will), so they got them without applying for. Bjus

    • Hello! I heard it depends on the other nationality as some countries don’t accept double. I know Sweden accepts it, maybe France doesn’t? Or maybe Brazil is the problem… I never looked into it but sure will write about it when the time comes!
      Thanks for reading!

      • N says:

        That’s weird, I have three nationalities, French among them and never had to give it up.

      • Three? I thought two was like the limit….
        I wonder if it has to do with marriage perhaps? I don’t know if “Anonymous” above here is married or not but I have a friend who is French and has permanent residency here since like forever but I think as her hubby is also French they can’t nationality unless they give up their French one. N, what’s your situation, did you get double at birth then a third by marriage?

      • N says:

        I was born with two (French and Argentinian) and naturalized Canadian when I was a student. I think I’ll stop once I’ve become Brazilian 🙂

Leave a Reply

