My Kitchen: Lime Meringue Pie

IMG_20140312_175014I have written about being an immigrant in the past and I still love it, although many would argue I am not an immigrant but rather, a foreigner. The difference? Your own interpretation.

But there are downsides too. Being a foreigner means you are often friends with other foreigners, and that means people come and go a lot. Last week was one of those weeks where one friend came back (yey) and one friend left us (boo). To relieve our dear friend of the stress of packing and moving I invited her for lunch, and I made this delicious lemon pie topped with meringue for dessert. It was very yummy, so I wanted to share it with you.

The recipe can be found in Swedish here:

IMG_20140312_161605

The pastry shell:
3dl flour
125g butter
4 tbsp water
The lemon cream:
3dl water
1,5dl sugar
6 tbsp corn starch
2 lemons
3 egg yolks
1 tbsp butter
Meringue:
3 egg whites
1dl sugar

Mix together the three ingredients for the shell in a blender and put it in a pie dish of choice, press it in so that the dow covers the bottom and the edges completely. My dow was pretty wet, not sure if I added more water than I should have or if the dow should be like that. I think I will add a little less next time to check. Once all the dow is pressed in put in a cool place for a bit. I left mine in the fridge while doing the lemon filling.

IMG_20140312_164109Put the oven on 225ºc.

Mix water, sugar, cornstarch and lemon juice and lemon zest in a pot, bring to boil and leave simmering until thick. Add egg yolks, let bubble a bit, add butter, whisk until melted and leave to cool. At this point I thought I had completely failed, the filling didn’t look any good and the smell was nothing like I had imagined although I thought maybe that was because it was so warm still. I left it to cool down and prayed.

Put the shell in the oven and leave for 20 minutes or until slightly brown. It will make the kitchen smell heavenly!!

While the lemon filling is cooling and the pie shell baking, it is time to make the meringue. Whisk the egg whites until hard and then add the sugar “softly”. That’s how they say in the swedish recipe and I noticed that the egg whites kind of went softer, like it melted, once it came in touch with the sugar. I guess this is why you should add the sugar slowly and not whisk too much. Actually, next time I will add the sugar only just before it is time to spread the egg whites on the pie just in case.

Take the shell out of the oven and let cool, reduce the heat to 150ºc. Once both shell and filling has cooled down, add the filling to the shell, top with egg whites (if you didn’t add the sugar straight away, don’t forget it now) and bake for 10 minutes.IMG_20140312_173312-1

I find that the lemon taste is better once the pie has cooled down completely, but actually I only served it the next day (with a small piece missing – a cook’s gotta do what a cook’s gotta do!). I kept it in the fridge over night and heated it slightly in the oven before serving, just to get the meringue a little boost.

I will definitely do this one again, it was appreciated by my friends which was my main objective. I will reduce the sugar though, because I think you can without it being boring and tasteless. I might even try doing a no-sugar version, and add Stevia instead. I am not sure you can cut the sugar in the meringue, I guess the sugar is what holds it together and actually makes it a “meringue”…

Love,

CJ

About CJ - Loving São Paulo

A Swede in Brazil. Whatever comes to mind; thoughts, inspiration, food ideas, baby stuff, life.. I will write about it when I have free time! Uma Sueca no Brasil. Seja o que for; pensamentos, inspiração, novas receitas, coisas de bebes, a vida... Se há tempo livre escrevo aqui!
This entry was posted in A Sweet Tooth and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

