My Kitchen: Green Pea Soup

IMG_20140312_181834I started liking soup when I lived in Portugal, I’m not sure if it’s because I simply grew up or because they just make fabulous soup there. Either way, there is nothing better than a nice warm soup on a cold or rainy day.

Today is one of those days, it is almost like a winter’s day with rain drizzling down and only 19ºc. I’m wearing jeans and a sweater for the first time this year and I have even considered getting out the duvet. But, then I know this is São Paulo, so the weather changes like I change my undies. Tomorrow could be 25ºc and sunny again.

Ayhoo, today calls for soup! Today’s recipe is from this (Swedish) site and it is super easy to make. As usual there are some variations to my version.

Ingredients:
1tsp rapeseed oil
1 onion
4dl water
1 cube of veggie stock
600g frozen green peas
1,5dl milk
Black pepper
 

IMG_20140312_181123Dice the onion and fry it in the oil without letting it get brown, add water, stock and peas and let boil for about 8 minutes.

With a hand blender, mix everything until smooth, add the milk and pepper to taste. If it is too thick add more water. Delicious and super easy and quick. Add a bit of Creme Fraiche or a cream cheese of your choice, and serve with a piece bread on the side!

Enjoy!

CJ

About CJ - Loving São Paulo

A Swede in Brazil. Whatever comes to mind; thoughts, inspiration, food ideas, baby stuff, life.. I will write about it when I have free time! Uma Sueca no Brasil. Seja o que for; pensamentos, inspiração, novas receitas, coisas de bebes, a vida... Se há tempo livre escrevo aqui!
This entry was posted in Soup and Snacks and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Kitchen: Green Pea Soup

  1. N says:

    Yesss that’s my kind of soup too, though frozen peas is not as cheap as, say, fresh squash which works great with that recipe too ! 😀

Leave a Reply

