My Kitchen: Raw Balls

IMG_20140426_212415When I first heard about Raw Balls I wasn’t the least tempted to try them out, the name just doesn’t do it for me. But the other day my friend Johanna ❤ said she had made them and that they were delicious, so I thought I had to give it a try. When I realised it’s a small snack that is crazy simple and cheap to make, and healthy too (well I guess that depends on what you chose to put in them), I understood I’ve been missing out.

I oftentimes walk through the kitchen looking for snacks, as I have cravings from hell. And now I have a solution! The best thing with these is that you can make them with virtually any ingredient. A fruity version like the one below, or a chocolaty version using cocoa powder, thus still healthy. And by using dried fruit you get the sweet taste without adding sugar!

I love when I can make something in the kitchen without having to go shopping first, this is one of those recipes!! The only thing I don’t usually have is dried fruit, but if these are stored in the freezer, I wonder if I can use banana (which I usually have at home). Anyway, this time I just used whatever I had in my cupboard without mixing too many ingredients to avoid confusing my poor taste buds.

Ingredients:
1 dl Almonds
0,5 dl Shredded coconut (mine was sweetened but unsweetened might be better)
1 dl Dried apricot
A dash of syrup

IMG_20140426_211123Put almonds and coconut in a food processor and mix until crumbly, add the apricots and syrup and mix until pasty-ish. I might mix less time next time I do these to keep some of the bits in there… Roll small balls and leave in freezer for about an hour or two to set. I was advised by Johanna to keep them in the freezer which is what I have done. I made these yesterday and had one this morning, it was perfectly cold and just the right hardness/texture. They also last longer in the freezer!

Enjoy!

CJ

About CJ - Loving São Paulo

A Swede in Brazil. Whatever comes to mind; thoughts, inspiration, food ideas, baby stuff, life.. I will write about it when I have free time! Uma Sueca no Brasil. Seja o que for; pensamentos, inspiração, novas receitas, coisas de bebes, a vida... Se há tempo livre escrevo aqui!
This entry was posted in Soup and Snacks and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Kitchen: Raw Balls

  1. N says:

    Wow never heard of those! Sounds yummy. Will try soon ! 🙂

Leave a Reply

