Contrasts

It’s a beautiful day, the sun is shining and it’s not too hot. Lily woke me up at 7.30 as usual, with a little cold and feeling sorry for herself. That’s ok, I am here to comfort her and quite frankly, who am I to decline a cuddle.

After breakfast Lily and I take a walk over to one of the playgrounds in the area. It’s full of children and their… nannies. A few mothers but mostly nannies. I smile a bit to myself as I feel grateful for having the possibility to be with my child. The funny thing is that every child on that playground have parents with MUCH more money than me, yet I am the privileged one. But I think most of them don’t see it that way, I think they see me as the poor young lady who can’t afford a nanny.

After a walk around the playground which was too full to actually play in, we sit down at a nearby café for a quick coffee. Next to me is a couple with a nanny, but no child. You can easily distinguish a nanny as they wear all white. I can’t help but to overhear their conversation and they are discussing their future together. The couple is expecting. The woman talks about how she wants to be part of her child’s life thus isn’t looking for a nanny to do everything. She just wants a helping hand in the day to day as, naturally, the mother-to-be has to have a life too. She explained she wants to go to the gym, do her nails and feel like a woman. Her mother is going to America to buy everything needed for a newborn and is then coming over to São Paulo from Rio de Janeiro for the first period. The mother will be home from work (couldn’t figure out how long) starting September and that is also when the nanny will begin her contract with them. They want the nanny to be there before the baby is born. I guess they just can’t imagine a day alone with the little creature growing inside of her!?

I don’t judge (much), I just can’t understand it. I’m shocked at how this is still the mentality in many countries in 2015. It’s great that someone who don’t have an education (because they can’t afford to get one) can get work, but I find it’s very old fashioned to have nannies, drivers, housekeepers and sometimes even one nanny PER CHILD. Housekeepers fine, I mean, it’s a luxury many people should have. Why not? I love a clean home and when I start working again, not having to worry about cleaning means more time for the family!

But we had a child because we wanted to have a family. And I want to live that life, not pay someone else to live it for me!

Love,

CJ

About CJ - Loving São Paulo

A Swede in Brazil. Whatever comes to mind; thoughts, inspiration, food ideas, baby stuff, life.. I will write about it when I have free time! Uma Sueca no Brasil. Seja o que for; pensamentos, inspiração, novas receitas, coisas de bebes, a vida... Se há tempo livre escrevo aqui!
This entry was posted in CJs World and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Contrasts

  1. berryjackie says:

    I can’t think about comparing Brazil with Sweden and I loved to live in Sweden…. It’s funny because I annoy people say that everything there was better xD
    Back to Brazil… we have about 200 millions of people, I checked the Wikipedia and says more… Anyways that’s the difference. Only São Paulo break already the number of inhabitants in Sweden and our country is far from poor but actually full of (fancy thieves) having a fancy life. They decide how to cheat the people in a way that the people don’t react bad against them. Specially the poor people that are mute to claim for justice and education 😦

  2. berryjackie says:

    That’s how it is! I would call those mothers lazy! But if I’m not too critic I can think that they are more concerned about their status, lifestyle and beauty which is important too. They struggle with the time. Some yes are rich! And you may think that this is really crazy but even poor moms have nannies :O and someone to clean sometimes.

  3. N says:

    I feel like you. I have often been asked how I could ever manage to do EVERYTHING at home with three young children with neither a nanny, nor a housekeeper, not even family close by *people stare at me in disbelief here*… Yet, I feel fortunate to have been able to take care of my children in their younger years, and be at home now when they come back from school and help them with their homework. I won’t say I enjoy every single minute of it, I do have a big sigh of relief when I leave them at school for my 4-and-a-half hours of “freedom” per day. But it’s MY job and MY responsibility as a mom and the queen of the family. 🙂

Leave a Reply

